(0) $0.00


The Authority and Sufficiency of Scripture: Revised and Expanded

David S. Dockery and Malcolm B. Yarnell III, eds.

The Authority and Sufficiency of Scripture is a collection of essays written by 15 Southwestern Seminary and Texas Baptist College faculty members that collectively express confidence in Scripture in 14 different aspects of life and ministry.

In the preface, the editors explain that the book’s contents reflect the belief that “the Holy Bible speaks both with perfect authority and with perfect sufficiency into every aspect of the life of the people of God and into every aspect of the theological education which helps the people of God to know both God and His will for our lives. The inspiration of Scripture by the Spirit of God, who perfectly guided the prophets and apostles of the Old Testament and the New Testament to write their words, ensures those words are inherently perfect. Because the Bible’s very words are perfect because of the Spirit’s inspiration, they continue to manifest the power of the Holy Spirit in authority and sufficiency.”

To learn more about The Authority and Sufficiency of Scripture: Revised and Expanded, please read the press release here


The Table of Contents for The Authority and Sufficiency of Scripture is below:

  1. Introduction – Malcolm B. Yarnell III and David S. Dockery
  2. Biblical Studies – Joshua E. Williams
  3. Historical Theology – Madison Grace II
  4. Systematic Theology – Micah D. Carter
  5. Baptist History – Blake O. McKinney
  6. Pastoral Ministry and Preaching – Matthew McKellar and David S. Dockery
  7. Christian Worship – Joseph R. Crider
  8. Christian Discipleship – Coleman M. Ford
  9. Biblical Counseling – Lilly H. Park
  10. Ministry with Families – Chris Shirley
  11. Humanities – Todd Bates
  12. Proclamation Evangelism and Evangelistic Proclamation – Carl J. Bradford
  13. Cross-Cultural Missions – Dean Sieberhagen
  14. Public Theology – Daniel Darling and Malcolm B. Yarnell III
  15. Index of Scripture
  16. Index of Names






Published: April 1, 2024

282 pages

6 x 9 inches

ISBN: 979-8-9884208-2-8

About the Editors

David S. Dockery is the tenth president of Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary and distinguished professor of theology.
Malcolm B. Yarnell III is research professor of theology at Southwestern Seminary.